Welcome to AskRSPO

Find the most commonly asked questions about RSPO.

Can't find what you're looking for?

Please get in touch with us below and we'll get back to you soon.


Smallholder Standing Committee

In 2018, RSPO Board of Governors (BoG) endorsed the RSPO Theory of Change (ToC) with the overall vision of making sustainable palm oil the norm.

In March 2019, the RSPO BoG subsequently endorsed the RSPO Governance Review for ‘Reorganisation of Standing Committees, Task Forces and Working Groups’. The Standard Setting Committee was established to provide the direction and contribute to the RSPO standard settings, which may include, but not limited to, the development and/or revision of normative and relevant guidance documents  for RSPO members


  • To oversee the execution of the RSPO Smallholder Strategy and for the RSPO Secretariat to lead the implementation of the planned activities;

  • To make decisions throughout the implementation of the Smallholder Strategy and to ensure that the guiding principles are respected in the decision making;

  • To form one (or more) Working Group(s) or Task Force(s) to be responsible for delivering a specific output of the Smallholder Strategy. These subgroups will report back to the SHSC and where appropriate, the Standing Committee will evaluate and decide on the recommendations of the working group(s); 

  • To monitor the overall budget for the implementation of the Smallholder Strategy;

  • To report to the BoG on matters concerning smallholders.


* final structure to be determined


Substantive Members



Membership Sector
Marieke Leegwater (Chair) Solidaridad Social NGO

Ivan Novrizaldie

Asian Agri

Oil Palm Grower (Indonesia)

Jan Hein de Vroe 

Natural Habitats

Oil Palm Grower (RoW)

Lee Kuan Chun

Procter & Gamble

Consumer Goods Manufacturer

Hiew Koh Thien 

N.Y.Hiew Holdings Sdn. Bhd.

Smallholder (Malaysia) 
Narno bin Sayoto Irontiko


Smallholder (Indonesia) 

Ian Orrell

New Britain Palm Oil Limited (NBPOL)

Smallholder (Papua New Guinea) 

Ahmadou Cisse

Solidaridad West Africa

Smallholder (Africa) 
Maria Carmen Lopez Oleopalma Smallholder (Latin America)
David Wigand HOFER KG dba. ALDI SOUTH Group Retailer
Eleanor Spencer Zoological Society of London (ZSL) Environmental NGO
Phillipa Walker World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) Environmental NGO
Johan Verburg Rabobank Bank / Financial Institution

Alternate Members



Membership Sector

Charles Mate-Kole Norpalm Ghana Oil Palm Grower (RoW)

Ingrid Richardson


Consumer Goods Manufacturer

Rukaiyah Rafiq Setara Jambi Smallholder (Indonesia)
Charles Manasseh Sackey TOPP Smallholder (Africa)
Romain Deveza World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) Environmental NGO
Yunita Widiastuti Cargill Processor & Trader


Name Designation
Ashwin Selvaraj (Lead) Head of Smallholder Programme

Terms of Reference and Meeting Minutes

The Smallholder Strategy aims to make the RSPO system more inclusive for smallholders. The SHSC is therefore charged to achieve the three main objectives of the Smallholder Strategy, namely improving smallholders’ livelihoods, increasing the number of smallholders within the RSPO system, and increasing support for smallholder inclusion into the RSPO system.

Related Information