

Term of Reference Compensation Task Force (CTF) Of Biodiversity & High Conservation Value Working Group 15 August , 2011

Introduction:

Principle 7 of RSPO principles and criteria outline the requirement for responsible development of new plantings. Criteria 7.3 stated that new plantings since November 2005, have not replaced primary forest or any area required to maintain or enhance one or more High Conservation Values.

In May 2009, the RSPO New Planting Procedures or NPP was formalized and later approved by RSPO Executive Board in September 2009 for implementation from 1st Jan 2010.

The RSPO Executive Board has also decided that there will be a facilitated process within the RSPO to develop a framework document to guide members through the process of compensating for land cleared without prior High Conservation Value assessment between November 2005 and November 2007 in those countries where such a provision is in the National Interpretations (Indonesia and Malaysia). The same document will also give guidance to members in cases where clearance without HCV assessment has occurred after November 2007 and before the implementation of New Planting Procedures since January 2010.

The goal of this CTF is to develop a guidance document that will help guide members and the RSPO in determining how to proceed with cases of clearance without HCV assessment and how to develop acceptable compensation packages for individual cases.

Currently, RSPO has drafted the working guidance to members on compensation related to RSPO criterion 7.3, it is effective since December 1st, 2011 until the guidance document mentioned above is finalized.

RSPO secretariat has engaged with ERE Consulting to develop a position and guidance document on compensation. One of the CTF's responsibilities is to provide technical inputs and advice to the consultant.

Vision:

The vision of CTF echoes the vision of RSPO &BHCV WG which is:-

To "transform the market for sustainable palm oil" and the BHCV WG supports that goal by assisting the palm oil sector in their efforts to conserve biodiversity, maintain key ecosystem services and respect significant cultural landmarks.

Mission:

The CTF will support the mission of BHCV WG and facilitate the process of development of compensation guidance document which will be presented to the RSPO Executive Board and discussed during the RT9.

Objectives:

- To develop acceptable compensation packages for land clearance without HCV assessment or where subsequent HCV assessments have determined that HCV values were lost.
- To set up a pilot process to implement the guidance and test the compensation process with RSPO members.



Expected outputs:

- 1. The consultant i.e. ERE Consulting is expected to develop the position paper and draft of the guidance document.
- 2. The consultant is expected to conduct two public stakeholders consultation workshop with assistance from RSPO secretariat and CTF.
- 3. Final draft of the guidance document will be submitted to EB for approval and presented during RT9.

Timeline:

April 1st, 2011 to October 31st, 2011

Timeline for Development of RSPO Position on Compensation for Land Clearance without HCV Assessment						
Activity	2010					
	Jul	Aug	Sep	Oct	Nov	Dec
 Documents review RSPO Secretariat to provide relevant docs and contacts to ERE ERE carry out review of existing documents and communicate with experts etc. 						
 Facts gathering Gather secondary information Formulation of 1st draft of the generic compensation guidelines 						
 Formation of CTF Secretariat to form the CWG comprising of members from different sector The CWG is endorsed/agreed by S&C SC 	3 rd wk	1				
 1st Meeting of CTF ERE to present the 1st draft and time line to the CWG CWG member discussed and provide input to the draft document. CWG to agree/disagree with the approach, structure and content of the draft. 		3 rd wk				
 RSPO members consultation Revised draft incorporating the CWG input is circulated to members for comments ERE to produce 3rd draft document incorporating comments made by members 	Ongoing					
Stakeholders workshop (MY) & 30 days public notification • ERE to present 3 rd draft guideline to the stakeholders			Mid			
 Stakeholders workshop (ID) & 30 days public notification ERE to present 3rd draft guideline to the stakeholders 			Mid			
2 nd Meeting of CTF				1 st wk		
Final guideline (draft) to be submitted to EB for approval				Mid		
Final guideline to be presented during GA for endorsement						



No.	List of CTF Members					
	Names	Organisation	Member Category	Status	Contact	
1.	Henry S. Barlow	Sime Darby	Oil Palm Growers	Chairperson , Member	misssallylee@yahoo.com	
2.	Sophie Persey	ZSL INA	ENGO	Member (co-chair)	Sophie.Persey@zsl.org	
3.	Laura Darcy			(Deputy Chair)/Alternate	NA	
4.	Tim Killeen	Conservation International (CI)	ENGO	Member	t.killeen@conservation.org	
5.	Jatna Supriatna			Member (Alternate)	j.supriatna@conservation.org	
6.	Adam Harrison	WWF-International	ENGO	Member (Alternate)	AHarrison@wwfscotland.org.uk	
7.	Anders Lindhe			Member	anders@saperda.se	
8.	Surin Suksuwan	WWF-MY	ENGO	Member	ssuksuwan@wwf.org.my	
9.	Dayang Norwana			Member (Alternate)	dnorwana@wwf.org.my	
10.	John Payne	Borneo Rhino Alliance (BORA)	ENGO	Member	sabahpayne@gmail.com	
11.	Catherine Cassagne	IFC	Banks and Investors	Member	CCassagne@ifc.org	
12.	Simon Siburat	Wilmar	Oil Palm Growers	Member	simonsiburat@wilmar.com.my	
13.	Peter Heng	GAR	Oil Palm Growers	Member	peterheng@goldenagri.com.sg	
14.	Norazam Hameed	Sime Darby	Oil Palm Growers	Member	norazam.hameed@simedarby.com	
15.	Calley Beamish	MPOA	Oil Palm Growers	Member (Alternate)	calley@wilmar.com.my	



16.	Gan Lian Tiong	Musim Mas	Oil Palm Growers	Member	Liantiong.gan@musimmas.com	
17.	Oliver Tichit	Sipef Group	Oil Palm Growers	Member	oliviertichit@tolantiga.co.id	
18.	Reza Azmi	Wild Asia	Affiliate member (Individual)	Member	reza@wildasia.org	
19.	Sheila Rajah				NA	
20.	Purwo Susanto	ISPO Consulting	ENGO	Member	purwo_wwf@yahoo.com	
21.	Neny Indriyana			Member (Alternate)	nenywibisono@yahoo.co.id	
22.	Dwi Rahmat	Aksenta	Non-member	Member	dwirm@aksenta.com	
23.	Marcus Colchester	Forest Peoples Programme	Non-member	Member	marcus@forestpeoples.org	
24.	Dato' Mikaail Kavanagh	ERE Consulting	Non-member	Consultant	dmikekav@gmail.com	
25.	Randolph Jeremiah				rsj@ere.com.my	
26.	Salahudin Yaacob	RSPO Secretariat		Secretary	salahudin.yaacob@rspo.org	
27.	Audrey Lee Mei Fong				Audrey.lee@rspo.org	
28.	Stan Rodgers	LFP-Shemsi Sdn. Bhd.	Non-member	Observer/ Invited	lfp@shemsi.com	
29.	Glen Reynolds	Royal Society- SEARRP	Non-member		Glen.searrp@me.com	
30.	Irwan Gunawan	WWF-Indonesia	ENGO		igunawan@wwf.or.id	
31.	Aisyah Sileuw	Daemeter	Affiliate member (Organizations)		aisyah.sileuw@daemeter.org	
32.	Gary Pauli				gary.paoli@daemeter.org	
33.	Christopher Stewart	HCV Network	Non-member			
34.	Heather Ducharme				Heather@hcvnetwork.org	