Smallholders Working Group

The Smallholder Working Group has now been formed in line with the EB aspiration i.e. to follow the new overall RSPO structure. The first SHWG meeting was conducted on 25 and 26 June 2012, at Hotel Melia Kuala Lumpur. Prior to this, matters related to smallholder issues were discussed under the Taskforce on Smallholders (TFS). SHWG will function under the Standard and Certification Standing Committee within the overall RSPO organization structure.

The current Co-Chairs of the SHWG are Dr Simon Lord (Grower ROW) from NBPOL and Ms Sandra Seeboldt (social NGO) from OxfamNovib.

MISSION STATEMENT, MANDATE & SCOPE OF THE SMALLHOLDER WORKING GROUP
The Working Group has agreed upon the following mission statement, mandate and scope:

Mission:
“To ensure that smallholders improve their livelihoods by benefitting from RSPO standards and best practices”

Mandate:
  • Support and monitor trials of the application of the RSPO Principles & Criteria with smallholders;
  • Provide recommendation to the Secretariat/Standing Committee/ EB for approval of project(s)/ funding/ policies that have impact to the overall smallholders’ development;
  • Ascertain the relevance, effectiveness and impact of the RSPO Principles & Criteria and Supply Chain Certification with regards to smallholders and propose adjustments to both national and generic RSPO documents;
  • Facilitate and support the development of global relevant smallholder knowledge base and ensure linking and learning between different countries, initiatives and technology;
  • Promote the development of support mechanisms and partnerships with the aim to reduce barriers for smallholders adopting sustainable production practices and RSPO certification (e.g. funding mechanism, capacity building modules, etc);
  • Implement decision and/or policies by the Standing Committee/ EB on projects as well as directive to work with the other Working Groups/Task Force as and when need arise;
  • To promote active participation of smallholders in the RSPO organisation; and
  • To work with all stakeholders of the RSPO, including governments, to achieve its
Scope:
  • Global Schemed, Associated and Independent Smallholders;
  • Promotion and implementation of pilots and up-scaling mechanisms;
  • RSPO certification of smallholders;
  • Address issues that go beyond certification (yield improvements, market access, access to finance, etc.); and
  • Focus on learning and creation of enabling environments.

The Working Group organize itself in 5 work streams. Each stream will deal with an specific area of smallholder work. Each work stream will be led by a spokesperson and supported by the co-chairs and the secretariat:

  1. Workstream 1: RSPO System and Documents.
    Members are: PT Musim Mas, Sawit Watch, PNG Palmoil Council (Spokeperson) and Fauna Flora International.
  2. Workstream 2: Smallholders Support Mechanism.
    Members are: WWF-Malaysia (Spokeperson), Fauna Flora International, Yayasan Setara Jambi, Serikat Petani Kelapa Sawit (SPKS Indonesia), Malaysia Palm Oil Board (MPOB).
  3. Workstream 3: Smallholder Knowledge Management
    Members are: Serikat Petani Kelapa Sawit (SPKS Indonesia), FELDA, Sawit Watch (Spokeperson) and PNG Oilpalm Council.
  4. Workstream 4: Smallholder Trials
    Members are: Serikat Petani Kelapa Sawit (SPKS Indonesia), Malaysia Palm Oil Board (MPOB), National Association of Smallholder (NASH Malaysia) (Spokeperson), Fauna Flora International, and Sime Darby.
  5. Workstream 5: Smallholder Funding Mechanism
    Members are: Solidaridad, Sawit Watch, IFC (Spokeperson) and Sime Darby.

A road map for SHWG will be developed. In preparing the road map, it was agreed that there is need to do a SWOT Analysis on the current status of smallholder projects (all types) globally so as to ensure and identify concrete future plans and supports for smallholder. This SWOT analysis will help give guidance and efficiency to each of the work streams.

A work plan based on the road map will be finalized and presented to the EB before the RT10.
 

Members of RSPO Smallholder Working Group June 2012

Co-Chairs: Dr Simon Lord (NBPOL) & Ms Sandra Seeboldt (Oxfam Novib)
  Members Member Categories
1. Mr Herman Tandinata | PT Musim Mas
Email: herman_tan@musimmas.com
Grower (INA)
2. Mr Arnold Sipahutar | PT.Perkebunan Nusantara III
Email: arnoldsp@gmail.com
Grower (INA)
3. Mr K Ilangovan | FELDA
Email: k.ilangovan@felda.net.my
Grower (MAL)
4. Mr Abdul Aziz bin Zainal Abidin | Keresa Plantation
Email: aziz@keresa.com.my
Grower (MAL)
5. Mr Simon Lord | New Britain Palm Oil Ltd
Email: slord@nbpol.com.sg
Grower (ROW)
6. Mr Ricardo Torres | Fedepalma
Email: rtorresc@fedepalma.org
Grower (ROW)
7. Ms Dayang Norwana Awang Ali Bema | WWF-Malaysia
Email: dnorwana@wwf.panda.org
ENGO
8. Ms Anna Lyons | Fauna & Flora International (Singapore)
Email: anna.lyons@fauna-flora.org
ENGO
9. Ms Sandra Seeboldt | Oxfam Novib
Email: Sandra.Seeboldt@oxfamnovib.nl
SNGO
10. Mr Norman Jiwan | Sawit Watch
Email: jiwannorman18@gmail.com
SNGO
11. Mr Piers Gillespie | Solidaridad
Email: piers.gillespie@solidaridadnetwork.org
SNGO
12. Mr Rudy Lumuru | Yayasan Setara Jambi
Email: rlumuru@yahoo.com
SNGO
13. Mr Sin Soon Ehian | Sime Darby
Email: sin.soon.ehian@simedarby.com
Processors & Traders/ Supply Chain
14. Ms Cherie Tan | Unilever
Email: Cherie.Tan@unilever.com
Manufacturer/ Supply Chain
15. Mr Triyanto Fitriyardi | IFC
Email: TFitriyardi@ifc.org
Bank & Investor/ Supply Chain
16. Mr Hj Faiz bin Abd Rahman | NASH |
Email: faiz_abdulrahman@yahoo.com
Smallholder (MAL)
17. Mr Darto Mansuetus Alsy Hanu | SPKS Email: darto_wojtyla@yahoo.co.id Smallholder (INA)
18. Mr Ian Orell | PNG Palm Oil Council
Email: ian.orrell@pngpalmoilcouncil.org
Smallholder (ROW)
19. Ms Rosemary Addico | WAFF, Ghana
Email: rosemaryaddico@waffco.org
Smallholder (ROW)
20. Mr Hj Wahid Omar | MPOB
Email: wahid@mpob.gov.my
Observer/ Expert
21. Dr Marcus Colchester| FPP
Email: marcus@forestpeoples.org
Observer/ Expert
22. Mr Bob Norman | GreenPalm
Email: bob.norman@greenpalm.org
Observer/ Expert
23. Mr Daniel May| GIZ, Germany
Email: daniel.may@giz.de
Observer/ Expert